Search GTA6.how

Try

On this page
  1. What "PS5 Pro Enhanced" means
  2. Frame rate: the 30 fps report
  3. What the Pro will probably add (our reading)
  4. Should you buy a PS5 Pro for GTA 6?
  5. What to watch for
  6. What to do next
  7. Frequently asked questions
  8. What changed
  9. Sources

PS5 Pro at a glance

Pro label
"PS5 Pro Enhanced" on the PlayStation Store listing official
What it adds
Not stated by Sony or Rockstar (re-checked Sept 28, 2026) not announced
Frame rate
Consoles ran it at 30 fps in development; 60 fps undecided reported
Performance mode
None announced not announced
Extended Look
Captured on a base PS5: native 1440p, upscaled to 4K, stable 30 fps reported
Separate Pro version
No. One PS5 game, $79.99 or $99.99 official
Pro bundle
None announced not announced
Stock
Short; a Sony memo says through early 2027 at the earliest reported
Release
November 19, 2026; pre-load November 12 official

What "PS5 Pro Enhanced" means

Sony puts the PS5 Pro Enhanced label on PS5 games that developers have updated to use the Pro's extra hardware. The updates are free, and Sony is explicit that the enhanced features vary by game. So the badge tells you Rockstar is doing something for the Pro. It does not tell you what. We re-read Sony's product page on September 26, 2026 and the PlayStation Store listing on September 28, and the label is still the only Pro detail on either.

Sony's announcement lists what the Pro adds over a base PS5: a GPU with 67% more compute units, 28% faster memory, up to 45% faster rendering, ray tracing at two to three times the speed, and PSSR, Sony's machine-learning upscaler. It does not list a faster CPU. That detail matters for GTA 6, as the next section explains.

QuestionWhat the badge tells you
Does GTA 6 use Pro hardware?Yes, in some way official
Sharper image than a base PS5?Not stated not announced
A 60 fps mode on Pro?Not stated not announced
Better ray tracing on Pro?Not stated not announced
Graphics mode menu?Not stated for any console not announced
Extra cost for the Pro features?No. Same game, free update per Sony's policy official
Pre-order GTA VI

Code in the box, no disc (PS5: US and Canadian accounts). Amazon delivers from Nov 12, with release-day delivery for Prime.

Paid links. As an Amazon Associate, GTA6.how earns from qualifying purchases.

Frame rate: the 30 fps report

Rockstar has not announced a frame rate for any console. The one account comes from YouTuber Davy Jones, who visited Rockstar North: he said Rob Nelson, co-studio head at Rockstar North, told visitors the consoles were running the game at 30 fps during development, and that a 60 fps option was a question for the technical team. Kotaku reported it on August 27, 2026. reported Nelson did not single out the Pro. Our 30 fps report has the full story.

Digital Foundry's look at the Extended Look, which Rockstar says was captured on PS5, found a native 1440p image with a simple spatial upscale to 4K, a stable 30 fps and noisy ray-traced reflections. It called 60 fps extremely unlikely because there is not enough GPU and, especially, CPU time to spare without cutting back the world. reported

Put those two findings next to Sony's spec list. If the CPU is what holds GTA 6 at 30 fps, the Pro's bigger GPU buys image quality, not frames. That is our reading, not an announcement. Our GTA 6 frame rate page compares what is known for every console.

What the Pro will probably add (our reading)

  • Sharper image. The base PS5 footage used a basic upscale that looked soft with visible aliasing. PSSR exists to fix exactly that, which makes a cleaner 4K image the likeliest Pro gain.
  • Cleaner ray tracing. The Pro casts rays two to three times faster per Sony, which could tidy up the smeared reflections Digital Foundry spotted.
  • A steadier 30. Extra GPU headroom can smooth the occasional dropped frame.
  • 60 fps: the long shot. A 60 fps Pro mode would need Rockstar to cut CPU work, such as crowd and traffic density. Nothing suggests it has.

Precedent. The last mid-generation upgrade Rockstar launched a major game on was the PS4 Pro. On it, Red Dead Redemption 2 (2018) rendered 1920x2160 and reconstructed the image to 4K, at the same 30 fps as the base PS4's 1080p, per Digital Foundry. The Pro got a better picture, not a higher frame rate. GTA 6 is a different game on different hardware, so treat this as a pattern, not a prediction.

Should you buy a PS5 Pro for GTA 6?

Not yet, if GTA 6 is the only reason. Every known difference between the Pro and a base PS5 for this game is a guess, and the gap in price is not. On September 28, 2026, PlayStation Direct in the US listed the PS5 Pro at $899.00 (shown as currently unavailable), the 1 TB PS5 at $649.00 and the PS5 Digital Edition at $599.00, unchanged since September 23.

Your situationOur advice
You own a base PS5Keep it. Rockstar says its gameplay showcase was captured on PS5. Wait for Rockstar's performance details or Digital Foundry's launch analysis before spending $899 on a Pro.
You own a PS5 ProNothing to do. You get the enhanced version automatically, and the 2 TB drive (about 1.89 TB usable, per Press Start) means no space worries. Check the file size page for the install number when Sony lists it.
No PS5, large 4K TV, budget is not the issueThe Pro is the only console where GTA 6 carries a label promising extras over the base model. It has no disc drive, which GTA 6 does not need anyway.
No PS5, watching the budgetA base PS5 plays the same game on the same day for $250 to $300 less. The likely difference is image sharpness, not content.
Choosing between PlayStation and XboxNo performance figures exist for any console. Compare on the facts known today in GTA 6 platforms.

Weighing the Pro against the base PS5, Series X and Series S together? The best console for GTA 6 compares official prices, usable storage and disc drives, and says who should pick which.

Sony has announced no GTA 6 PS5 Pro bundle. If one appears, GTA 6 bundles will list it. The only official hardware tie-in so far is the pair of Limited Edition DualSense controllers, black and white, at $84.99 each.

Finding one is the other problem

The Pro is hard to buy right now. PlayFront, a German gaming site, says it obtained a Sony memo to distributors that blames "temporary market supply constraints and high demand" and warns the shortage will last "through early 2027 at the earliest". PlayStation LifeStyle reported the memo on September 18, 2026. reported We found no public Sony statement on it, and neither outlet gives stock numbers.

Amazon.com was not selling the PS5 Pro itself when we checked on September 28, 2026. The only offer came from a third-party seller asking more than Sony's list price, so we do not link a PS5 Pro. If you want one, PlayStation Direct and retailers selling at the $899.00 list price are the places to watch. If you would rather not wait, a base PS5 plays GTA 6 on the same day.

What to watch for

  • A Rockstar Newswire or PlayStation Blog post with graphics modes. For GTA V's PS5 version, Rockstar listed its Fidelity and Performance modes on Newswire eleven days before launch.
  • Digital Foundry's launch analysis, usually within days of release, comparing base PS5, PS5 Pro and Xbox.
  • Game Informer's cover story, digital from September 29, 2026, with interviews with Rockstar lead designers. The magazine lists weather, wildlife and Rockstar's Florida research as topics, not performance, so do not count on Pro details from it. See our Game Informer post.
  • Patch notes. Pro enhancements sometimes arrive after launch in an update.

Until then, treat any "60 fps on PS5 Pro confirmed" headline as a rumor unless it links to Rockstar or Sony. Stories about leaked Sony rules for the Pro Enhanced label are rumors too.

What to do next

Where to buy

For your PS5 Pro

Amazon

The PS5 Pro takes the same M.2 SSDs as the standard PS5. For a TV, look for HDMI 2.1 and 4K at 120 Hz; the LG C6 lists both.

Amazon's Pre-order Price Guarantee: "the price we charge when we ship it to you will be the lowest price offered by Amazon.com between the time you placed your order and the end of the day of the release date." Amazon's help page adds that it "does not apply to lower prices offered through any program that requires a customer to join the program to receive the lower price." Amazon's release date for the GTA VI boxes is November 12.

Paid links. As an Amazon Associate, GTA6.how earns from qualifying purchases. Prices, delivery dates and availability are set by Amazon and can change. How we choose products.

Frequently asked questions

Is GTA 6 PS5 Pro Enhanced?

Yes. The PlayStation Store listing shows the "PS5 Pro Enhanced" label. Neither Sony nor Rockstar has said what the enhancement is, so there is no official Pro resolution, frame rate or graphics mode yet.

Will GTA 6 run at 60 fps on PS5 Pro?

Not announced. The only frame-rate information is reported: according to YouTuber Davy Jones, Rob Nelson, co-studio head at Rockstar North, told visitors the consoles ran the game at 30 fps during development and that 60 fps was a question for the technical team. Digital Foundry thinks the CPU is a big part of the limit, and Sony's Pro upgrade is mostly on the graphics side.

Is there a separate PS5 Pro version of GTA 6?

No. There is one PS5 game at $79.99 (Standard) or $99.99 (Ultimate), and it runs on both the base PS5 and the Pro. Sony says Pro enhancements reach games through free software updates, so you do not pay extra for them.

Is there a GTA 6 PS5 Pro bundle?

None has been announced. The only official GTA 6 hardware is Sony's pair of Limited Edition DualSense controllers, one black and one white, at $84.99 each, out November 19, 2026. GTA 6 bundles tracks any that appear.

Is the PS5 Pro in stock for GTA 6?

Not at PlayStation Direct in the US, which showed the PS5 Pro ($899.00) as currently unavailable on September 28, 2026. A Sony memo to distributors, first reported by the German site PlayFront and then by PlayStation LifeStyle, says the shortage will last "through early 2027 at the earliest". We found no public Sony statement on it, so treat it as reported. A base PS5 plays the same game on the same day.

Do I need a disc drive for GTA 6 on PS5 Pro?

No. The PS5 Pro ships without a disc drive, and the GTA 6 physical edition has no disc anyway: it is a download code in a box. A Pro plays both the boxed and the digital copy.

What changed on this page

  • Added the PS5 Pro stock picture: a Sony memo to distributors, reported on September 16 and 18, says the shortage runs through early 2027 at the earliest, and PlayStation Direct still showed the Pro as unavailable on September 28. Amazon.com was not selling the Pro itself that day, so we do not link one.
  • Re-checked on September 26: the PlayStation Store listing still shows only the "PS5 Pro Enhanced" label, and playstation.com gives no Pro resolution, frame rate or mode. Added Game Informer's September 29 cover story to the watch list. PlayStation Direct prices were unchanged on September 26, and the buying advice now links our best-console guide.