Search GTA6.how

Try

On this page
  1. GTA 6 is the same game on every console
  2. Console comparison for GTA 6
  3. Who should pick which
  4. Do you need a disc drive?
  5. Storage: the real difference
  6. Platform extras and marketing
  7. When to buy: Prime Big Deal Days and Black Friday
  8. Does it matter where your friends play?
  9. What to do next
  10. Frequently asked questions
  11. What changed
  12. Sources

Paid links: product names with a cart icon go to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate, GTA6.how earns from qualifying purchases. How it works

The short answer

Own a PS5 or Series X|S
Keep it. Same game, same price, same day
Cheapest new console
Xbox Series S 512 GB, $499.99, with tight storage official
Best value full-power console
PS5, $599.00 (Digital Edition) or $649.00 (1 TB with disc drive) official
Best picture, probably
PS5 Pro, $899.00, but what its badge adds is not stated official
Performance figures
None published for any console not announced
Console bundles
None announced not announced

GTA 6 is the same game on every console

GTA 6 launches on November 19, 2026 on PS5 and Xbox Series X|S. official There is one PS5 version, which runs on the base PS5 and the PS5 Pro, and one Xbox listing covering both the Series X and the Series S. Standard costs $79.99 and Ultimate $99.99 on both. Every pre-order gets the Vintage Vice City Pack, digital pre-orders on both stores add a free month of GTA+, and both pre-load from November 12.

So the question is not which console gets a better game. It is which console gets a better picture, and nobody knows that yet. Rockstar has published no frame rate, resolution or graphics mode for any of them; the one report says the consoles ran it at 30 fps during development. reported The details are on GTA 6 frame rate on PS5, Pro and Xbox.

Console comparison for GTA 6

Prices are the official US list prices on PlayStation Direct and xbox.com, checked September 26, 2026. official Retailers set their own prices, so check before you buy.

ConsoleOfficial US priceStorage (usable)Disc driveGTA 6 notes
Xbox Series S 512 GB$499.99About 364 GBNoLowest spec; expect a lower resolution (our expectation)
Xbox Series S 1 TB$599.99About 800 GBNoSame console, room for GTA 6 plus other games
PS5 Digital Edition 825 GB$599.00825 GB drive; the older 825 GB PS5 had 667 GB freeNoPlays the boxed code; full-power PS5
PS5 1 TB$649.00848 GBYesSame GTA 6 as the Digital Edition
Xbox Series X 1 TB Digital Edition$749.99802 GBNoMicrosoft's most powerful console
Xbox Series X 1 TB$799.99 (sold out on xbox.com on Sept 26)802 GBYesSame as the Digital Edition for GTA 6
PS5 Pro 2 TB$899.00 (unavailable at PlayStation Direct on Sept 26)About 1.89 TBNo"PS5 Pro Enhanced" label, details not stated official

Neither Sony nor Microsoft publishes usable space. The figures are outlet measurements reported: PCMag (PS5, November 9, 2023), Press Start (PS5 Pro, November 6, 2024), GamesRadar (Series S 512 GB and Series X, November 4, 2020) and TechRadar (Series S 1 TB, November 8, 2024).

Amazon sells most of these models itself, and the buttons below go to its listing for each exact model. The PS5 Pro is not linked: on September 28 Amazon had no offer of its own for it, only a reseller.

Paid links to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate, GTA6.how earns from qualifying purchases. Amazon sets its own prices, which can differ from the list prices above.

Who should pick which

  • You already own a current console. Buy GTA 6 there. Put the money you would spend on a new console into storage if you are short of space.
  • First console, sensible budget: a PS5. At list prices on September 26, the PS5 Digital Edition ($599.00) and the 1 TB PS5 ($649.00) cost about $100 to $150 less than a Series X. Only buy the disc model if you want discs for other games.
  • Best possible picture: a PS5 Pro, if you accept the unknowns. It is the only console with a GTA 6-specific label, and a cleaner 4K image is the likeliest gain (our reading). It costs $250 to $300 more than a base PS5, PlayStation Direct listed it as currently unavailable on September 26, and nobody has said what the badge covers. Supply may stay short: the German outlet Playfront says it has seen a Sony memo to distributors warning that the shortage will last "through early 2027 at the earliest" (via PlayStation LifeStyle, September 18). reported More on GTA 6 on PS5 Pro.
  • Already in the Xbox world: a Series X. Your library, controller and account come with you. GTA 6 is not a day-one Game Pass title, according to reporting, so buy it either way. reported
  • Tightest budget: a Series S. At list price it is the cheapest new console that plays GTA 6 on launch day. You trade resolution and storage for price. See GTA 6 on Xbox Series S before buying the 512 GB model.

Do you need a disc drive?

No. The GTA 6 physical edition is a download code in a box, with no disc, and it is Standard Edition only. official An all-digital PS5, Series S or Series X plays the boxed copy as well as a digital one. One regional catch: Rockstar Support says PlayStation codes only work on accounts from the region they were sold for, while Xbox codes are not region-locked. official See GTA 6 physical vs digital.

Storage: the real difference

The install size is not announced, and estimates of 150 to 200 GB are rumor. rumor On a 512 GB Series S, that range would take up to about 55 percent of the free space. Both families can add fast storage that plays games: every PS5 has an M.2 slot, and the Series X|S takes an official Storage Expansion Card. Microsoft says Series X|S optimized games cannot run from a USB drive. Follow how to free up storage for GTA 6 before pre-load opens on November 12, and watch the GTA 6 file size page for the official number.

Platform extras and marketing

  • "Plays Best On PlayStation 5". Rockstar's official site carries this Sony line. official It is co-marketing with terms that are not public, not a performance claim.
  • Limited Edition DualSense. Sony's two GTA 6 controllers cost $84.99 each and launch November 19. official They are PS5 controllers; Microsoft has announced no GTA 6 hardware. See the GTA 6 controller.
  • DualSense features and Remote Play. Sony's listings show haptic feedback, adaptive triggers and Remote Play support, so a PlayStation Portal can stream the game from your own PS5. official A Portal is not a console and needs the PS5.
  • Bundles. None announced. GTA 6 bundles tracks any that appear.

When to buy: Prime Big Deal Days and Black Friday

Two sale dates fall before and after launch. Amazon's Prime Big Deal Days run October 6–7, 2026 (Amazon's own banner, checked September 28), and Black Friday is November 27, eight days after GTA 6 unlocks. Nobody has announced a console discount for either, and no GTA 6 console bundle exists. not announced If a console you want drops in price, the game still pre-loads from November 12 on any of them, so buying in October loses you nothing. Our GTA 6 deals page logs official Sony, Microsoft and Rockstar price changes as the dates arrive, and GTA 6 bundles tracks bundle news.

Prime Big Deal Days prices on Amazon are for Prime members, and new members can start a 30-day free trial (Amazon, checked September 28). Try Prime on AmazonPaid link: Amazon pays GTA6.how a fee if you sign up. As an Amazon Associate, GTA6.how earns from qualifying purchases.

Does it matter where your friends play?

Less than usual. GTA 6 is single-player at launch, so there is no lobby to share and no crossplay to worry about yet. The Verge reported, citing Xbox sources, that pre-orders skew heavily to PS5; Xbox's Matthew Ball replied that Xbox's share matches its share of the console market. Nobody gave numbers. reported The details are in our Xbox pre-orders story.

What to do next

Where to buy

Consoles and storage for GTA VI

Amazon

The boxed game is a download code, so an all-digital console plays it. Storage is the upgrade that matters most on a 512 GB Series S or an 825 GB PS5 Digital Edition.

Paid links. As an Amazon Associate, GTA6.how earns from qualifying purchases. Prices, delivery dates and availability are set by Amazon and can change. How we choose products.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best console for GTA 6?

The one you already own. GTA 6 is the same game, at the same price and on the same day on PS5, PS5 Pro, Xbox Series X and Xbox Series S. If you are buying new, a standard PS5 was the cheapest full-power option at official US list prices on September 26, 2026. Rockstar has published no performance figures for any console.

Is GTA 6 better on PS5 or Xbox Series X?

Nobody outside Rockstar knows yet. No frame rate, resolution or graphics mode has been announced for either console. "Plays Best On PlayStation 5" is Sony's co-marketing line, not a benchmark, and the only PS5-specific extra with a label is "PS5 Pro Enhanced", which Rockstar has not explained.

Should I buy a PS5 Pro for GTA 6?

Only if the price does not matter to you. The Pro is the only console with a GTA 6-specific enhancement label, but nobody has said what it adds, and PlayStation Direct listed it as currently unavailable on September 26, 2026. The German outlet Playfront reported in September that a Sony memo expects the shortage to last into early 2027. If you own a base PS5, wait for Rockstar's details or launch analysis.

Can I play GTA 6 on a PS5 Digital Edition or an all-digital Xbox?

Yes. The boxed GTA 6 is a download code with no disc, so a console without a disc drive plays both the boxed and the digital copy. A disc drive only matters for your other games.

Is the Xbox Series S good enough for GTA 6?

It is a supported console: GTA 6 launches on Series S on November 19, 2026 from the same listing as Series X. Expect a lower resolution (our expectation, nothing is announced) and plan for storage, because the 512 GB model has only about 364 GB free, going by reported outlet measurements.

Is there a GTA 6 console bundle?

None has been announced by Sony or Microsoft. The only official GTA 6 hardware is Sony's pair of Limited Edition DualSense controllers at $84.99, out November 19, 2026.

What changed on this page

  • Fixed the Amazon links so each console links to the exact model: the Series X Digital Edition, the 1 TB PS5 with a disc drive and the 1 TB Series S now have their own buttons, and the price table no longer links to Amazon. Added when to buy (Prime Big Deal Days on October 6–7, Black Friday on November 27) and a reported Sony memo saying the PS5 Pro shortage lasts into early 2027.
  • Page created with official US console prices from PlayStation Direct and xbox.com, checked September 26, 2026.